U Better Not Text N Drive in LA.
The Pelican State is known for its relaxed, party-loving attitude. There’s nothing most Louisianans like better than kicking back with family and friends, having fun, eating great food, and letting loose with some fantastic jazz.
But when it comes to driver safety and kids in a school zone, all that changes. Louisianans are serious about protecting their kids.
In Louisiana, you cannot use your phone for any reason at all if you are driving in a school zone during school hours.
Distracted Driver Laws.
The fact that texting or using your cell phone while driving (i.e. “distracted driving”) is dangerous and downright negligent, should really not come as a surprise to anyone. But you might not realize just how bad the situation is.
In 2015 alone, texting and driving or talking on the phone while driving claimed the lives of 3,477 people, across the nation, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Recently. the Highway Safety Research Group, established by Louisiana State University, reported that cell phones were involved in almost 2,500 crashes in the state.
Statistics also state that texting and driving is the number one cause of teenage driving accidents.
Because it is so dangerous and so prevalent, over 30 states now have laws making distracted driving illegal. Some states are towards imposing criminal charges against drivers who have caused fatal accidents while texting and driving.
In Louisiana, texting and driving has been illegal for a number of years. Recently, the law was changed to make it a “primary offense” meaning that you can get pulled over and ticketed for texting and driving.
In addition, the fines recently increased from $175 for a first offense, to $500 for a first offense. Get caught another time and the fine jumps to $1,000. If your texting and driving leads to a car accident, you can expect (a lawsuit and) the fines to be doubled.
Louisiana’s law prohibits all drivers from using cell phones for any reason within a school zone during posted hours.
Drivers under 18 may not use any “wireless communication device.” The term “wireless communication device” includes cell phones, PDAs, pagers, laptops and other devices.
Louisiana’s distracted driving law makes it clear that the state takes the threat to its citizens’ lives caused by distracted driving very seriously.
In an Accident and Need Help? Call us ToDay.
If you have been injured or lost a loved one in a car accident, call us. We are experienced personal injury attorneys and we offer FREE consultations. We have offices in Baton Rouge, and we serve Baker, Denham, Gonzales, Port Allen, Prairieville, New Orleans, and Zachary. Call (225) 200-0000 ToDay to schedule your free consultation or contact us here.